BARMM Gov’t Empowering 10 More LGUs to Leverage Digital Public Service

MILG and UNDP Localizing E-Governance Team Installed VSATs to Ensure Effectiveness of Connectivity

Short link:

COTABATO CITY — Between May 3 and July 23, 2023, the Localizing E-Governance for Accelerated Provision of Services (LeAPS) Technical Working Group (TWG), in collaboration with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), installed a Very Small Aperture Terminal (VSAT) and conducted a technical assessment for the upcoming digital center in 10 local government units in the Bangsamoro Region.

The VSAT is committed to improving internet connectivity within a municipality’s infrastructure, thereby increasing the speed, effectiveness, and dependability of digital communications.

The LeAPS Program, a collaboration between the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG) and UNDP, aims to harness the transformative power of data, digitalization, and people-centered governance. One of its primary goals is to provide better public services in a more timely and cost-effective manner by unlocking the value of data and recognizing it as a strategic asset for the pursuit of the public good.

Designed with inclusivity in mind, the Data Centers will serve as a beacon for underserved communities, regardless of their proficiency in information and communications technology ICT), can access vital information and services. The LeAPS seek to close the digital divide by ensuring equal access to information and services.

Credit: MILG

This is a game-changing step toward a more inclusive digital society in which no one is left behind.

Interior and Local Government Minister Atty. Naguib G. Sinarimbo said that the LeAPS hope to improve not only the reach and efficiency of local services but also the overall quality of life in the community, by promoting digital integration with local government units (LGUs).

He went on to say that the LeAPS initiative is a significant step toward realizing our shared vision of a digitally empowered and inclusive society.

Buluan and Shariff Aguak of Maguindanao del Sur Province, Parang and Sultan Kudarat of Maguindanao del Norte, Marantao and Taraka of Lanao del Sur, Lamitan City of Basilan, Talipao of Sulu, and Bongao of Tawi-Tawi are among the 10 local government units.

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is made up of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the SGA’s 63 barangays or villages that voted “Yes” in a plebiscite in February 2019 to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

According to the Philippine Atlas BARMM has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; undivided Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: