BARMM Chief Minister Al-Hajj Murad Ebrahim Congratulates President-Elect Marcos


By EDD K. USMAN | @edd1819 | @bluestar0910 | SDN — Science and Digital News |

Short link:

Credit: BARMM Media

(SDN) — The head of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) offered his “warm congratulations” to President-Elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” R.  Marcos, Jr. on his victory in the just concluded national and local elections (NLE).

This was acknowledged by the Bangsamoro government through Interim Chief Minister Ahod B. “Al-Hajj Murad” Ebrahim

Marcos, as of the tabulation of unofficial tally of votes in the May 9, 2022 presidential race, trounced his chief rival, Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” G. Robredo, by a massive margin.

“Please accept my warm congratulations on your electoral victory and my best wishes for your success as you prepare to take up the responsibilities and challenges as the 17th President of the Republic of the Philippines,” Ebrahim said in his message a copy of which reached SDN — Science and Digital News.

The Bangsamoro leader, chairman of the former revolutionary group Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) that signed the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement in the Bangsamoro (CAB), assured the President-elect “of the Bangsamoro Government’s continued openness, cooperation, and friendship for the benefit of the Bangsamoro people and the Filipino nation.”

BARMM Chief Minister and UBJP President Ahod Balawag “Al-Hajj Murad” Ebrahim. (Source: BARMM-BIO)

Ebrahim emphasized the importance of holding on to the peace agreements.

“We shall be guided by the signed agreements and the laws passed by the Republic of the Philippines,” the BARMM chief executive said.

“I look forward to working with you not only to develop closer relations but also to focus and coordinate our efforts on the cause of peace, justice, and development in the Bangsamoro Homeland,” said Ebrahim.

His message was addressed as “The Honorable Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr., President Elect” and dated May 12, 2022.

It can be recalled the MILF in 2015 established a political arm, the United Bangsamoro Justice Party (UBJP), signalling its active participation in the country’s political processes.

This election served as the MILF-UBJP’s first foray in politics, endorsing a number of national and local elections, led by Robredo, 12 senatorial bets, and local candidates.

Marcos won in all the provinces of the BARMM, such as Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi, and Sulu.

Comprising the Bangsamoro region, aside from the five provinces, are the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as 63 barangays or villages in North Cotabato designated as a Special Geographic Area (SGA) which voted to join the BARMM in a plebiscite. (✓)


Featured image shows President-Elect Bongbong Marcos, Jr. Credit for the picture goes to the Business Mirror.

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: