MBHTE, UP to Elevate Education for Disadvantaged and Marginalized Learners in BARMM

  • Featured image above shows University of the Philippines (UP) President Danilo L. Concepcion (right) and MBHTE Director General for Basic Education Abdullah Salik, Jr. about to sign a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) aimed at “responsive, relevant, and quality education for learners.” Salik represented Bangsamoro Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal in the event. (All images via MBHTE)


Short link: https://wp.me/paaccn-jV5

         COTABATO CITY — Education in the Bangsamoro region has just received a shot in the arm, which hopefully redounds to quality learning, particularly, but not exclusive, to the disadvantaged and marginalized learners.

This development emerged after a partnership was struck between the Bangsamoro government’s Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE) and the University of the Philippines (UP).

The two new partners aimed to deliver responsive, relevant, and quality education for disadvantaged and marginalized learners in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region (BAR).

          To implement their goal, the MBHTE headed by Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal entered into a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with UP on June 14, 2022, with the formal signing held at Quezon Hall, UP Diliman, Quezon City, Metro Manila. MBHTE Director General for Basic Education Abdullah Salik, Jr. represented Minister Iqbal at the signing rites.
         The MBHTE and UP agreed to develop activities in academic and public service areas of mutual interest, on the basis of equality and reciprocity.
         In his speech delivered by MBHTE Legal Consultant Atty. Ysnaira Ibrahim, Minister Iqbal said that the partnership is essential for the BARMM government in general and for the MBHTE in particular.
         “We are not ashamed to admit that we have a lot to catch-up when it comes to leading government institutions such as the MBHTE – the biggest ministry in BARMM,” the education head said in the speech.

         Comprising the BARMM are the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, and the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the Special Geographic Area (SGA) made up of 63 barangays or villages in North Cotabato that opted to be under BARMM jurisdiction. North Cotabato itself is not part of the region. As a new political entity (NPE), the BARMM was established through the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB). (/)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: