Young Researchers Showcase Innovations in DOST Summit

Media Release:

HUNDREDs of Philippine Science High School (PSHS) students from all of its 16 regional campuses participated in an annual Science Research Summit held in Subic, Zambales, on August 27-31, 2019.

This year’s summit carried the theme “Breaking Gender Barriers through Science, Technology, and Innovation” where the country’s top scholars presented their research papers on various fields. The young students from Grades 10-12 orally presented their research in Biology, Chemistry, Computational Science, Material Science, Engineering, and Environmental Science.

They will also mounted exhibits of their research works presented in two versions. The first was the Technical Poster presentation on August 29 for the panel of judges to assess and the second was the Community Fair Poster presentation on August 30.

A simpler version of the technical poster, the latter had more colorful graphics and common words for viewing by Grades 4-6 students and the general public who visited the exhibits.

All campuses sent their respective delegates, including the four youngest campuses in Caraga, CALABARZON, MIMAROPA, and Zamboanga whose  scholars were simple observers in last year’s summit.

aa aa 1 PSHS summit
The four-day event highlighted the research paper presentations where the students explained in a limited time to a panel of judges the importance of their research, its benefits to the people, and possible commercial value.

Also included in the summit were leadership and team building activities on the first day and the socials night where the creative side of the students will be showcased through songs, dance and other visual entertainment.

An awarding ceremony for the best research papers in each category capped the event.

The PSHS System is under the wings of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

Its campuses include those in Quezon City (Main campus), Ilocos Region in San Ildefonso, Ilocos Sur; Cagayan Valley Region in Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya; Cordillera Administrative Region in Irisan, Baguio City; Central Luzon Region in Clark Freeport Zone, Angeles, Pampanga; CALABARZON Region in Sampaga, Batangas City, MIMAROPA Region in Odiongan, Romblon; Bicol Region in Goa, Camarines Sur; Western Visayas Region in Jaro District, Iloilo; Central Visayas Region in Argao, Cebu; Eastern Visayas Region in Palo, Leyte; Central Mindanao Region in Balo-I Lanao, del Norte; Southern Mindanao Region in Tugbok District, Davao City; SOCCSKSARGEN Region in Koronadal, South Cotabato; Caraga Region in Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; and Zamboanga Peninsula Region in Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte.  (Rodolfo P. de Guzman, DOST-STII)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: