Senate Press Corps Slams Congressmen’s ‘Cruel Decision’ on ABS-CBN

Twitter: @edd1819, Instagram: @bluestar0910, Facebook: SDN — Science, Digital & Current Affairs



Journalists from various news media entities gave this unflattering description to the act of 70 members of the House of Representatives denying media giant ABS-CBN’s application for franchise renewal.

The Senate Press Corps issued a statement on the congressmen’s act, lambasting them for their decision.

“We deplore the cruel decision of the 70 House members that will result in the loss of livelihood of the 11,000 ABS-CBN workers amid the raging Covid-19 pandemic,” the group said in their statement.

One of the press corps’ members Hanna Torregoza of Manila Bulletin posted the scathing statement on Facebook.

The Senate Press Corps warned of the Domino Effect of the 70 congressmen’s act on other industries.

“This will also bring serious economic repercussions as the shutdown of ABS-CBN is already being felt in other industries and by the micro-entrepreneurs whose businesses are dependent on the network’s operations,” the group emphasized.

It pointed to the Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR), Securities Exchange Commission (SEC), and the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) for repeadtedly declaring the media titan was complying with the law. The group said these government agencies were crucial to the issue.

Moreover, the journalists’ group like other media organizations described the congressmen’s denial for ABS-CBN’s new franchise as blow to press freedom.

ABS-CBN, Senate Press Corps, journalists, House of Representatives, franchise renewal, congressmen
FRANCHISE. Some of the 11,000 ABS-CBN employees whose lives may change forever because of the ‘cruel decision’ of 70 congressmen denying ABS-CBN’s application for franchise renewal. (Source Marie Mamawal)

“The call of some lawmakers for Filipinos to move on is insensitive and an insult to the intelligence of the people, whom these congressmen think will simply forgive and forget the assault they launched against press freedom and the economy.”

A government agency under the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) did not escape the Senate reporters’s wrath.

They deplored the National Telecommunications Commission’s (NTC) officials’ key role on the debacle that hit ABS-CBN.

The Senate reporters vowed to remain in solidsirty with their fellow journalists.

“We continue to stand in solidarity with our colleagues in ABS-CBN and all those affected by the unjust and cruel action by these congressmen.

“We assure all that media organizations and the general public, even under these difficult times, will not stop and will not tire in calling out lawmakers and other public officials for their wrongdoings.”

On July 10, the House Committee on Legislative Franchises with 70 votes from a total of 85 committee and ex-officio members torpedoed ABS-CBN’s franchise renewal, shutting down the country’s biggest media organization’s operations.

ABS-CBN can appeal the congressmen’s decision.

Following are the 70 congressmen who who voted “Yes” to shutdown ABS-CBN:

1. Rep Abraham Tolentino – Cavite, 8th District

2. Rep. Atonio Albano – Isabela, 1st District

3. Rep. Faustino Michael Carlos Dy III – Isabela, 5th District

4. Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado – Bulacan, 1st District

5. Rep. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar – Palawan, 2nd District

6. Rep. Faustino Dy V –  Isabela, 6th District

7. Rep. Dale Malapitan – Caloocan City, 1st District

8. Rep. Eric Martinez – Valenzuela City, 2nd District

9. Rep. Divina Grace Yu – Zamboanga del Sur, 1st District

10. Rep. Julienne Baronda –  Iloilo City, Lone District

11. Rep. Anthony Peter “Onyx” Crisologo – Quezon City, 1st District

12. Rep. Luis Ferrer IV – Cavite, 6th District

13. Rep. John Marvin “Yul Servo” Nieto – Manila, 3rd District

14. Rep. Strike Revilla – Cavite, 2nd District

15. Rep. Samantha Louise Alfonso – Cagayan, 2nd District

16. Rep. Rolando Valeriano – Manila, 2nd District

17. Rep. Joaquin Chipeco Jr. – Calamba City, Lone District

18. Rep. Eduardo Gullas – Cebu, 1st District

19. Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona – Romblon, Lone District

20. Rep. Frederick Siao –  Iligan City, Lone District

21. Rep. Ian Paul Dy – Isabela, 3rd District

22. Rep. Gil “Kabaranggay Jr.” Acosta – Palawan, 3rd District

23. Rep. Weslie Gatchalian –  Valenzuela City, 1st District

24. Rep. Prescious H. Castelo –  Quezon City, 2nd District

25. Rep. Alyssa Sheena Tan –  Isabela, 4th District

26. Rep. Christian Unabia – Misamis Oriental, 1st District

27. Rep. Raymond Mendoza – Trade Union Congress of the Philippines Party-list

28. Rep. Jericho Nograles – Puwersa ng Bayang Atleta Party-list

29. Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez – Tingog Sinirangan Party-list

30. Rep. Eric Yap – ACT-CIS Party-list

31. Rep. Claudine Bautista – DUMPER PTDA Party-list

32. Rep. Esmael “Toto” Mangudadatu – Maguindanao, 2nd District

33. Rep. Enrico Pineda –  1-PACMAN Party-list

34. Rep. Dulce Ann Hofer –  Zamboanga Sibugay, 2nd District

35. Rep. Sharon Garin –  AAMBIS-OWA Party-list

36. Rep. Arnolfo “Arnie” Teves Jr. – Negros Oriental, 3rd District

37. Rep. Janette Garin (Ex-Officio) –  Iloilo, 1st District

38. Rep. Paolo Duterte – Davao City, 1st District

39. Rep. Juan Fidel Felipe Nograles –  Rizal, 2nd District  (Ferdinand Hernandez – South Cotabato, 2nd District)

40. Rep. Conrado III Estrella – Abono Party-list

41. Rep. Sandro Gonzales – Marino Party-list (Rep. Prospero Pichay Jr. – Surigao del Sur, 1st District)

42. Rep. Michael “Mike” Defensor – ANAKALUSUGAN Party-list (Rep. Roberto Puno – Antipolo City, 1st District)

43. Rep. Allan Ty – PGMA Party-list (Rep. Alexandria Gonzales – Lone District of the City of Mandaluyong)

44. Rep. Francisco Jose “Bingo” Matugas II – Surigao del Norte, 1st District (Rep. J. Pimentel – Surigao del Sur, 2nd District)

45. Rep. Luis Villafuerte Jr. – Camarines Sur, 2nd District

46. Rep. Raneo Abu – Batangas, 2nd District

47. Rep. Dan Fernandez – Laguna, 1st District

48. Rep. Rodante Marcoleta – Sagig Party-list

49. Rep. Henry Oaminal – Misamis Occidental, 2nd District

50. Rep. Pablo John Garcia – Cebu, 3rd District

51. Rep. Deogracias ‘DV’ Savellano –  Ilocos Sur, 1st District

52. Rep. Francisco Datol – SENIOR CITIZENS, Party-list (Rep. Michael Odylon “Mike” Romero – 1-PACMAN Party-list)

53. Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez – Leyte, 1st District

54. Rep. Jesus Crispin “Boying” Remulla – Cavite, 7th District

55. Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo –  Pampanga, 2nd District

56. Rep. Cristal Bagatsing – Manila, 5th District

57. Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc – Pampanga, 4th District

58. Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr. – Cavite, 4th District

59. Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy – BH Party-List

60. Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo – Camiguin, Lone District

61. Rep. Antonino Calixto – Pasay City, Lone District (Rep. Josephine Veronique “Jaye” Lacson-Noel – Malabon, Lone District)

62. Rep. Wilter Palma II –  Zamboanga Sibugay, 1st District

63. Rep. Ma. Theresa Collantes – Batangas, 3rd District

64. Rep. Ria Christina Fariñas –  Ilocos Norte, 1st District

65. Rep. Camille Villar –  Las Piñas City, Lone District

66. Rep. Roger G. Mercado – Southern Leyte, Lone District

67. Rep. Sharee Ann Tan – Samar, 2nd District

68. Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano – ABANG LINGKOD Party-list

69. Rep. Bayani Fernando – Marikina City, 1st District

70. Rep. Jose Singson Jr. –  PROBINSYANO AKO Party-list

The decision was roundly hit by various quarters, including from international groups. (SDN)



Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: