Bangsamoro READi Reaches Out to Flooded BARMM Communities


Short link:

(SDN) — The Ministry of the Interior and Local Government’s (MILG) Rapid Emergency Action on Disaster Incidence (READi) has once again flexed its humanitarian muscles to respond to flood victims in Cotabato City in the afternoon of March 11, 2022.

In the afternoon, Bangsamoro MILG READi was in the municipality of Datu Odin Sinsuat to bring and distribute relief assistance.

All images via MILG READi.

As every one knows, the Cotabato City is now effectively and officially the capital or seat of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), despite unsuccessful vehement objection of the city’s top local government executive.

In this instance, the MILG READi responded to calls for assistance issued by residents of Barangay Rosary Heights 6, one of them Mrs. Jessica Beñarez, 63, with five children.

The residents through their village officials made the plea for help after their community went underwater because of flooding caused by continuous rain, their situation made more difficult by the coronavirus pandemic.

“We want to express our thanks  for the assistance we received from BARMM. We hope you you’ll be able to help many more who need assistance,” she said.
Earlier in the morning Bangsamoro READi distributed food assistance to over 2,000 flood victims of the barangay (village) on March 11, 2022. Some barangays of the municipality of Datu Odin Sinsuat, Maguindanao, were submerged by flood waters as the downpour went on for days.
Village officials such as Bai Monesa Usman Sinsuat helped the staff of READi in the distribution of the food assistance; she initiated the contact with MILG, seeking assistance from MILG Minister Naguib G. Sinarimbo.
The flood-affected villages included Barangays Makir, Kurintem, Neketan, Kakar, Dados, Ambolodto, Bongued, and Poblacion Dalican, all of Datu Odin Sinsuat.
On behalf of her fellow residents, Mrs. Sinsuat thanked profusely the MILG for immediately responding to their call for assistance.

The BARMM is composed of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, and the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the Special Geographic Area (SGA) comprised of 63 barangays or villages in North Cotabato that opted to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

It was established as a new political entity (NPE) by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB). (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: