MILG Conducts Training for Bangsamoro READi to Better Cope with Emergency Situations


         COTABATO CITY — The Bangsamoro READi (Rapid Emergency Action on Disaster Incidence) continued to equip mo its staff and responders to cope with any kind of incidents.
         READi is the humanitarian and rescue arm of the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG) under the leadership of Interior Minister Naguib G. Sinarimbo.
         Just over the week the group hosted an activity dubbed the Operation and Maintenance Training of the Vulnerability and Risk Assessment Mapping (VRAM) dashboard on May 19, 2022 at the Bangsamoro READi Operation Center here in the city at the Bangsamoro Government Center (BGC).
         It was learned the one-day training was facilitated by the Voluntary Service Overseas (VSO) in partnership with Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. Participants included the Bangsamoro READi itself, Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (MENRE), Ministry of Health (MOH), and Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Agrarian Reform (MAFAR), which are some of the line agencies of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).
Some participants at the Bangsamoro READi-hosted VRAM event. (Image: MILG)
         A statement from the MILG said “VRAM aims to map out the vulnerable communities in all of the five provinces of BARMM, including the 63 barangays or villages which are part of its Special Geographic Areas (SGAs) in North Cotabato, and to identify the type of risks that they are exposed to, and determine how these risks are affecting their agri-based livelihoods.”
         The VRAM dashboard will be housed at the Operation Center. It will help planners and response teams in the region in reducing the effects of hazards.
         “We are grateful to the UN FAO and the VSO for the support they have extended to the BARMM,” the statement said.
         Comprising BARMM are Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi provinces, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, and the 63 villages in the SGA. North Cotabato province is not part of BARMM.

         The 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) established the BARMM through the  Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL). — EKU (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: