Bangsamoro Gov’t Turns Over Php22.1-Mln 2-Storey School Building to Lamitan City Division

Handover of ceremonial key of newly built school building for Lamitan City School Division. (Photo: MBHTE)

Short link:

COTABATO CITY — The Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education turned over on Saturday, March 11, a flagship 2-storey school building with 10 classrooms project at Parangbasak National High School, Lamitan City Division, Basilan.

Amounting to Php22,134,000.00, the project was subsidized under the 2020 Special Development Fund (SDF).

“This is the first time that the beautiful Island of Basilan will be having this kind of building,” said MBHTE Deputy Minister Haron S. Meling.

The Ministry is optimistic that the 11 schools division in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) shall each receive school building projects and other educational services relevant and responsive to the needs and aspirations of the Bangsamoro education community.

Elsewhere in the Bangsamoro region, the MBHTE under the leadership of Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal, has delivered and distributed through its Property and Supply Section 2,538 sacks of Iron Fortified Rice (IFR), each weighing 18 kilograms to the Schools Division of Tawi-Tawi.

The recipient schools are the following:

  • 1. Bakong Primary School (208 sacks)
  • 2. Bas-Bas Likud primary School (131 sacks)
  • 3. Campo Muslim Primary School (58 sacks)
  • 4. Darussalam Primary School (119 sacks)
  • 5. Datag Bud Primary School (70 sacks)
  • 6. Datu Maulana Elementary School (202 sacks)
  • 7. Kiniktal Primary School (90 sacks)
  • 8. Marang Marang Elementary School (113 sacks)
  • 9. Panimusan Elementary School (211 sacks)
  • 10. Parang Pantay Primary School (173 sacks)
  • 11. Sahasa Primary School (52 sacks)
  • 12. Sidalling Primary School (144 sacks)
  • 13. Sikullis Primary School (269 sacks)
  • 14. Simalak Elementary School (250 sacks)
  • 15. Takot Takot Primary school (91 sacks)
  • 16. Tuho-Tuhog Primary School (116 sacks)
  • 17. Tumahubong Primary School (103 sacks)
  • 18. Tumbagaan Elementary School (138 sacks)

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is made up of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao (now split as Maguindanao del Sur and Maguindanao del Norte), Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the 63 barangays or villages dubbed Special Geographic Area (SGA) that voted “yes” in a plebiscite in February 2019 to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

According to the Philippine Atlas has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. (EKU/MBHTE) (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: