BARMM Gov’t Breaks Ground for 17 Barangay Hall Buildings, 1 Municipal Fire Station

Façade of the Main Building of the BARMM Government that houses the Office of the Chief Minister. (Photo: SDN — SciTech and Digital News)

Short link:

COTABATO CITY — The Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) has broken ground for 17 Barangay Hall Buildings and one Municipal Fire Station.

Eight Barangay Halls and a Municipal Fire Station are to be constructed in Sultan Mastura, Maguindanao del Norte, according to the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG) headed by Interior Minister Naguib G. Sinarimbo. Groundbreaking for the projects was held on March 17, 2023.

Design of the construction projects.

Earlier on March 15, in a related development, the MILG, one of the primary governance organs of the Bangsamoro government, broke ground for five Barangay Halls in Parang, Maguindanao del Norte, and four Barangay Halls in Barira, Maguindanao del Norte.

Sinarimbo acknowledged the presence of the officials of Sultan Mastura led by Dr. Bong Panda, Jr.

“The Bangsamoro Government led by the Chief Minister Al-Hajj Murad Ebrahim is committed to transforming this municipality into a well-developed and peaceful community,” said the MILG head, who is also the BARMM spokesman.

Firefighting truck for Barira Fire Station.

In the municipality of Parang, the groundreaking was attended by Mayor Cahar Ibay, while Barira Mayor Abdul Rauf Tomawis joined the event in his municipality.

Sinarimbo said the MILG also turned over to the Barira local government unit (LGU) one unit of a brand new Fire Truck which is complete with equipment for the LGU’s Municipal Fire Station.

He assured the Bangsamoro government under Chief Minister Ebrahim’s continuing assistance in delivering “services to our constituent LGUs and other allied offices to ensure that our people receive the best services they deserve.”

Breaking the ground.

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is made up of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao (now split as Maguindanao del Sur and Maguindanao del Norte), Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the 63 barangays or villages dubbed Special Geographic Area (SGA) that voted “yes” in a plebiscite in February 2019 to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

According to the Philippine Atlas has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. — EKU with reports from MILG (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: