Bangsamoro Gov’t Says Application for MBHTE AHME Scholarship Program on May 1 to 20

Be sure to click all the four images for better understanding of the AHME Scholarship Program of the Bangsamoro government

Credit for images: MBHTE   

Short link:

By EDD K. USMAN | Twitter: @edd1819 | Instagram: @bluestar0910 Facebook: SDN — SciTech and Digital News

COTABATO CITY (SDN) — “No Bangsamoro Learner Shall Be Left Behind!”

True to this rallying cry, the Bangsamoro government through its Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE) has announced the start of application for its Access to Higher and Modern Education (AHME) Scholarship Program for Academic Year 2023-2024 (4th Cohort).

MBHTE Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal. (Photo: SDN — SciTech and Digital News)

Headed by Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal, the MBHTE said in its announcement the application opened on May 1 and ends of May 20 at the close of office hours at 5 p.m. MBHTE is one of the primary ministries of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Eligible to apply for AHME are incoming freshmen who are going to take a four- or five-year undergraduate course (or Bachelor’s Degree). AHME offers Php30,000 financial benefits per semester for every scholar.

All AHME applicants must meet the minimum qualifications, such as:

  • Must be a BARMM resident;
  • Must be enrolled in BARMM priority programs;
  • Senior High School or Alternative Learning System (ALS) Graduate;
  • Not a recipient of any other scholarship, grant or financial subsidy from government or private sector.

The MBHTE makes it clear it any applicant who does not meet the minimum qualifications above are not eligible to apply.

AHME also has special eligibility, that includes:

  • Combatant
  • Child of a Combatant
  • Orphan of a Combatant
  • Surviving Spouse of Combatant

For those who belong to underprivileged, disadvantaged, marginalized, poor or low-income sector or group, applicants for AHME must fall under the following:

  • Combined annual gross income of parents or guardian does not exceed Php40,000;
  • An orphan;
  • A child of a solo parent;
  • A person with disability (PWD), or a child of PWD;
  • A member of Indigenous People (IP), or a child of an IP parent;
  • An internally displaced person (IDP)

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is made up of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the 63 barangays or villages dubbed Special Geographic Area (SGA) that voted “yes” in a plebiscite in February 2019 to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

According to the Philippine Atlas has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: