BARMM Screens Candidates for SEAL Awards 2023 in Recognition of Performing Top Local Gov’t Leaders

Bangsamoro Senior Minister Abunawas ‘Von Al-Haq’ Maslamama. (Credit: MILF)

Short link:

COTABATO CITY — The Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG) held the final evaluation and interview of potential awardees for the SEAL, or Salamat Excellence Award for Leadership, on 17 August 2023 at the Bangsamoro READi Conference Room, Bangsamoro Government Center (BGC), Cotabato City.

Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) Senior Minister Abunawas Maslamama chaired the activity, with the participation of Minister of Parliament (MP) Abdullah Hashim, son of the late Chairman Salamat Hashim; Galing Pook Executive Director Georgina Hernandez Yang, the Muslim Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Kutawato, Inc. (MCCIKI), and representatives from Civil Society Organizations (CSOs), and Academe.

Interior Minister Naguib G. Sinarimbo. (Credit: MILG)

The MILG launched the Salamat Excellence Award for Leadership in December 2020 as an incentive award program in honor of Shiek Salamat Hashim, “the great Bangsamoro revolutionary leader who embodied a true spirit of integrity and commitment to bettering the lives of the Bangsamoro people. It is the most prestigious award given by the region to outstanding local chief executives in the BARMM who perform exceedingly well.”

Recipients of the SEAL Award is given to individuals who have demonstrated and exemplified the three leadership pillars of 𝑨𝒄𝒄𝒐𝒖𝒏𝒕𝒂𝒃𝒍𝒆, π‘·π’‚π’“π’•π’Šπ’„π’Šπ’‘π’‚π’•π’π’“π’š, and π‘Ίπ’†π’“π’—π’Šπ’„π’†-π‘Άπ’“π’Šπ’†π’π’•π’†π’… Leadership.

Minister of Parliament (MP) Abdullah Hashim, son of MILF Founder/Chairman Salamat Hashim. (Credit: MILG)
Credit: MILG

The Program seeks to contribute to the establishment of Moral Governance in the BARMM by popularizing the principle of volunteerism and primary common good as demonstrated by Sheikh Salamat Hashim as a key to regional peace and development.

Interior Minister Sinarimbo urges LCEs to practice Moral Governance

There will be four SEAL awardees for this year, and the award ceremony will take place the following year. Each awardee will receive a plaque of recognition, a gold-plated medallion worth β‚±430,000, and a project worth β‚±2.5 million.

This year’s awardees have been expanded to include Barangay Local Executives (BLCs) who have demonstrated exemplary leadership.

MILG Minister Atty. Naguib G. Sinarimbo said the ministry encourages local chief executives (LCEs) and leaders to embrace the principles of accountability, participatory, and service-oriented leadership as critical to local development, as well as instill a culture of patriotism and social responsibility in leaders’ and communities’ hearts and minds.

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is made up of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the SGA’s (Special Geographic Area) 63 barangays or villages that voted β€œYes” in a plebiscite in February 2019 to be under the BARMM jurisdiction.

According to the Philippine Atlas BARMM has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; undivided Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. (βœ“)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: