Bangsamoro Education Ministry Turns Over Php17.45-M Worth of School Building Projects to Maguindanao Division


Short link:

BARMM Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal. (Credit: MBHTE)

(SDN) — The Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE) headed by Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal continued its initiative to build more and better school buildings for the Bangsamoro region.

Lately, the education agency of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) turned over Php17-million worth of four school building projects to Maguindanao Divisions I and II schools.

They are a 1-storey with two classrooms, three classrooms, and four classrooms school buildings. The MBHTE said the construction projects were subsidized under the 2018 Basic Education Facilities Fund (BEFF).

The completed school building projects are located at Looy Integrated Technical High School, 1-storey with two classrooms, (Php2,532,684.32); Looy Elementary School, 1-storey with three classrooms (Php3,385,952.95); Refra Elementary School, 1-storey, three classrooms ((Php3,385,952.95); Embing Mama Elementary School, (Php3,609,541.02), 1-storey, three classrooms; and Don A. Martinez Elementary School (Php4,550,702.03), 1-storey with four classrooms.

Under the leadership of BARMM Chief Minister Al-Hajj Murad Ebrahim, as well as MBHTE’s Minister Iqbal, the Bangsamoro government has been responding to the need to improve the quality of education in the region, including provisions of new school buildings, which are expected to provide students a better surrounding and ambiance conducive to learning.

As the region’s education ministry, the MBHTE is trying to “ensure that quality, accessible, and inclusive education is available for all Bangsamoro, and contributes to the shared prosperity and peacebuilding in the region.”

The Bangsamoro Autonomous Region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to implement the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB), is composed of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, and the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the Special Geographic Area (SGA) made up of 63 barangays or villages in North Cotabato that opted to be under BARMM jurisdiction during two plebiscites in January and February 2019.

It has a population of 4,404,288 people as of 2020 per the Philippine Atlas. — EKU/MBHTE (/)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: