MBHTE Opens Academic Year in Bangsamoro Higher Education Institutions


MBHTE-HED Director General Marjuni Maddi bangs the gong to signal the start of Academic Year 2022-2023 in the Bangsamoro region. (Photo: UAS-PTIA)

Short link: https://wp.me/paaccn-le7

COTABAOT CITY — The Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE), through its Higher Education Directorate (HED), officially opened Friday, August 19, the Academic Year 2022-2023 in the seven (7) Bangsamoro higher education institutions (HEIs) directly supervised and managed by the MBHTE.

Held at Upi Gymnasium, Maguindanao, Director General for Higher Education Marjuni Maddi led the opening of the school year with the ceremonial banging of the gong which signified the formal opening of classes.

HEIs contribute to learners’ development, growth

The Ministry-supervised HEIs (MSHEIs) are Balabagan Trade School (BTS), Hadji Buto School of Arts and Trade (HBSAT), Lanao Agricultural College (LAC), Lapak Agricultural School (LAS), Unda Memorial Agricultural School (UMAS), Upi Agricultural School (UAS), and Regional Madrasah Graduate Academy (RMA).

MBHTE Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal, who was in another important activity, has always believed that higher education contributes an integral part to the development and growth of the learners as it is what molds them to be productive professionals, resourceful entrepreneurs, and morally upright citizens of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM )and the country.

Minister Eduard Guerra of the Ministry of Public Works and Highways (MPWH), and Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Member of Parliament Ramon A. Piang, Sr. were among the dignitaries who attended the event, a social media post said.

Inspired by the principle of Moral Governance, the MBHTE always perseveres to become a resilient institution, willing and able to deliver quality, inclusive, and relevant education at all levels.

The Bangsamoro region, created in 2018 through the historic Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL), is comprised of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the 63 villages collectively dubbed Special Geographic Area (SGA) in North Cotabato province that voted “yes” in a plebiscite in January and February 2019 to be under the Bangsamoro government’s jurisdiction.

The BARMM population per the Philippine Atlas has 4,404,288 people. It has 116 municipalities: Basilan, 11 municipalities; Lanao del Sur, 39; Maguindanao, 36; Sulu, 19; and Tawi-Tawi, 11. Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur. (✓)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: