Recitation and Memorization Experts Win Php0.67-M in MBHTE’s 3rd BARMM Qur’anic Competition

Short link:

        COTABATO CITY — Winners of the 3rd BARMM Qur’an Recitation and Memorization Competition 2023 organized by the education ministry’s Directorate General for Madaris Education (DGME) netted a total of over Php675,000 as their prize.
BARMM Senior Minister Abdulraof A. Macacua extolling the virtues of reading and reciting verses of the Holy Qur’an. (Credit: MBHTE)
Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal speaks at the 3rd BARMM Qur’an Recitation and Memorization Competition which concluded on Sunday, January 22, 2023. (Credit: MBHTE)
         COTABATO CITY — The Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE), one of the primary ministries of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), awarded the cash prize at the conclusion of the Islamic event held from January 20 to 22 at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex (SKCC) inside the Bangsamoro Government Center (BGC) in the city.
          Member of Parliament and Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal emphasized the importance of the Islamic Holy Book, saying the Qur’an is considered “the final teaching of faith.”
          In his speech before the contest participants and the guests that included BARMM officials led by Bangsamoro Senior Minister Abdulraof A. Macacua, Iqbal highlighted the “education ministry’s steps to educate the succeeding generations to be familiar and learn and know the Holy Qur’an by hiring Islamic Studies and Arabic Language teachers and giving attention to traditional madrasah (plural, madaris, Islamic schools).”
MBHTE Director General for Madaris Education Sheikh Tahir Nalg. (Credit: MBHTE)
         There were two categories in the Islamic event, such as Al-Mujawaddah (Qur’an Recitation), and Tahfeez (Qur’an Memorization) with male and female brackets.
         According to the DGME-MBHTE headed by Director General Sheikh Tahir Nalg, the champions are Sadhan A. Zacaria who bested other contestants in Al-Mujawaddah; Muzaher S. Bito in Tahfeez (male bracket); and Najaah Kadafie for Tahfeez (female bracket).
         Each of the three champions went home with Php300,000 each for their feats.
One of the three champions in the competition (in white attire) held on January 20 to 22. From the right are Sheikh Khalifa Nando, BARMM Wali; BARMM Senior Minister Abdulraof Macacua; and Education Minister Mohagher M. Iqbal. (Credit: MBHTE)
         The MBHTE-DGME concluded the three-day competition which was being “to promote the value and importance of Qur’an reading in the region.”
         BARMM Senior Minister Abdulraof A. Macacua personally extended his congratulations to all the participants.
         “To all the winners, congratulations! Sa mga hindi pinalad (To those who were not lucky), I also want to congratulate them dahil malaki na ang reward ninyo sa pagbasa pa lang ng Qur’an lalo pa ito ay Ikhlas (because just reading the Qur’an will already give you reward especially you did it with all your heart),” emphasized Macacua.
         Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament Speaker Atty. Pangalian M. Balindong hailed the event. He said the event is an important aspect of our obligation to propagate the Islamic faith not only to fellow Muslims but also to people of other faiths, as well.”
        “As Muslims, it is our duty to share with everyone the sacred message of the Holy Qur’an as well as its beautiful poetic element,” said the Bangsamoro Speaker said in a speech read for him by the event’s host.
Part of the guests and audience during the conclusion and awarding ceremony of the competition. (Credit: MBHTE)
         Here is the complete list of the winners of the Qur’an-inspired competition:
Qur’an recitation (Al-Mujawwadah)
  • Champion: 𝐒𝐚𝐝𝐡𝐚𝐧 𝐀. 𝐙𝐚𝐜𝐚𝐫𝐢𝐚
  • 1st: 𝐊𝐚𝐦𝐚𝐫𝐨𝐝𝐝𝐢𝐧 𝐆. 𝐙𝐚𝐢𝐝𝐨𝐧
  • 2nd: 𝐀𝐡𝐦𝐚𝐝 𝐌𝐮𝐡𝐚𝐦𝐦𝐚𝐝 𝐍𝐚𝐳𝐢𝐫 𝐀𝐬𝐠𝐚𝐫 (𝐋𝐃𝐒 𝐈𝐈)
Qur’an Memorization (Tahfeez) Male Category
  • Champion: 𝐌𝐮𝐳𝐚𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐒. 𝐁𝐢𝐭𝐨 (𝐌𝐚𝐠𝐮𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐚𝐧𝐚𝐨 𝐈𝐈)
  • 1st: 𝐌𝐨𝐡𝐚𝐦𝐦𝐚𝐝 𝐀. 𝐀𝐬𝐢𝐝𝐝𝐢𝐧 (𝐁𝐚𝐬𝐢𝐥𝐚𝐧)
  • 2nd: 𝐀𝐛𝐝𝐮𝐥𝐣𝐚𝐥𝐚𝐥 𝐒. 𝐇𝐚𝐬𝐬𝐚𝐧 (𝐌𝐚𝐠𝐮𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐚𝐧𝐚𝐨 𝐈𝐈)
Qur’an Memorization (Tahfeez) Female Category
  • Champion: 𝐍𝐚𝐣𝐚𝐚𝐡 𝐊𝐚𝐝𝐚𝐟𝐢𝐞 (𝐋𝐃𝐒 𝐈𝐈)
  • 1st: 𝐑𝐨𝐡𝐚𝐢𝐦𝐚 𝐇. 𝐆𝐮𝐢𝐚𝐟𝐚𝐫 (𝐋𝐃𝐒 𝐈)
  • 2nd: 𝐅𝐚𝐢𝐫𝐨𝐝𝐳 𝐒. 𝐙𝐚𝐜𝐚𝐫𝐢𝐚 (𝐌𝐚𝐠𝐮𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐚𝐧𝐚𝐨 𝐈𝐈)
         Each of the champions of the competition received a cash prize amounting to Php100,000, while the 1st placers received Php75,000, and 2nd placers, Php50,000. (/)

Don't be shy, comments are welcome! Thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: